Sochi…

The closer my trip to Sochi is coming, the more people are actually asking me about how I feel about it – about taking a flight with a Russian airline and even worse how I feel about all the terror related news when it comes to the Olympic Winter Games.

I often just laugh it off, but in reality I am trying to avoid reading about terrorists and everything related to this, because it makes me feel insecure. I know that there is always the risk of terror attacks, but this is a different story. Hearing how much security and police will be there, should make me feel better but somehow it doesn´t. Maybe it will change once I am actually there and see how things roll, but right now it all feels like my head is spinning. There is a lot of uncertainty with the whole thing in general, I feel a bit left alone and am really happy that I am connected to many volunteers to be sharing hopes and fears as well as worries.

In less than a week I will already be in Sochi and there is still so much to be done before this…

—————————————————

Je näher meine Reise nach Sochi kommt, desto öfter fragen mich die Leute was ich denn empfinden würde – darüber, mit einer russischen Fluggesellschaft zu fliegen und, noch schlimmer, wie ich mit all den Terror bezogenen Neuigkeiten für die Winterspiele umgehen würde.

Oftmals lache ich einfach darüber, aber in echt versuche ich es zu vermeiden, all diese Geschichten über Terroristen und alles was das angeht zu lesen, ganz einfach weil es mich unsicher macht. Ich weiß, überall gibt es das Risiko von Terror-Anschlägen, aber das ist etwas anderes. Zu hören wie viel Security und Polizei da sein werden sollte mir Sicherheit geben, aber tut es irgendwie nicht. Vielleicht wird sich das ändern wenn ich da bin und sehe wie alles läuft, aber im Moment drehen sich die Gedanken in meinem Kopf. Es gibt viel Ungewissheit was das Ganze betrifft, ich fühle mich etwas verloren und bin wirklich froh, dass ich Kontakt zu vielen anderen Helfern habe, sodass ich nicht alleine mit meinen Hoffnungen, Ängsten und Fragen bin.

In weniger als einer Woche werde ich schon in Sochi sein, und bis dahin muss ich noch so viel erledigen…

This entry was posted in Travelling/Reisen. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

