Sewing: Hot water bottle cover


Size: A big hot water bottle (bought on Amazon)
Fabrics: Cotton webware (black with pattern) & light blue fleece
Pattern: The shape of the hot water bottle – how to create it based on this, check the video
Instructions: DIY Eule on YouTube
Time needed: ~2 hours

After I did the first things, I stumbled across a video of this little project and thought that it was really cute and being a hot water bottle lover anyways, it was just perfect. The cold time of the year just started and thus it becomes even more important.

I´ve been sewing fleece for the first time and really struggled, because I think I just pulled too much and thus the shape changed and everything got a bit tricky. But applying the cotton fabrics onto the fleece as you can see on the photo above was rather easy, but when closing the whole cover I ran out of yarn twice…I was close to totally freaking out and just dropping it but giving up close to the end…nope.

Well, I didn´t know what was still to come – you see that fucked up fabrics where you fill in the water into the hot water bottle? yeah, that was my nerve-killed try to apply some bias tape for the first time, not really having understood how to do it and somehow I also didn´t feel like digging any deeper…I feel embarassed now, as it is pretty easier as I figured out later on when I worked on the topic with more time…

And yeah…as mentioned, the fleece worked against me, and so I had to kinda fix the backside of it, as there was gap showing between upper and lower part of the fabrics…and you gotta be creative, see below…

This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

