Flashback: Paris & Nancy (03. & 04.11.2016)

It is kinda hilarious to be writing cheerful things now, on a day where the US decided on chosing a president that scares off the whole world, making people wonder what misery he will bring.

But in these moments, looking back to a nice trip is also the right to do, I´d say. More or less nice. But you´ll soon know more about the reasons for this “more or less nice” 😉


03.11.2016  Hamburg -> Paris

It is kinda funny for how long I had been worried that my flight might not even happen due to strikes going on, but as at the start of the week was clear – all good. And that´s why I happily drove to the airport , all relaxed and looking forward to being out of Hamburg for a few. And I was surprised how fast I was all checked in, had dropped off my luggage and went through the security controls (and yessss, they finally have body scanners – makes things so much easier and faster!) and then still had like 1,5h until boarding.

And this time I really hated waiting, I just wanted to get ging, to get out of Hamburg and to turn off the mind. But first the boarding was delayed, and then the flight decurity had forgotten to register us and we needed to wait yet another 20min to actually get onto the rollway. During the flight, I was mostly napping with my headphones and music on, just when we were approaching I woke up and enjoyed an amazing view out of the window, down onto all the lights coming from streets and such…what a view! Even the Eiffel Tower was visible when approaching the airport in paris – was kinda cool.

What then followed was less cool – going to the station where I had to go cost me fucking 10€ (hilarious!) and then I still had to walk quite a distance, and that through creepy surroundings. Really, it is not easy to get me scared and insecure, but this walk with my suitcase really did. And arriving at the “hotel” it did not get any better to be fully honest.

The room was…well, it probably wasn´t renovated or hadn´t seen paint for the past 20 years, tiles were coming down the wall, the bed was terrible as you were able to feel everything that was in the mattress, the window bar came down when I just had closed the window again, and the dude at the reception was really creepy.

Being totally exhausted, frustrated and whatnot, I needed to get something to eat and drink – and pretty much failed because it had become so late already, that everything was closed down and supermarkts were nowhere to be really found. Ended up having cereal bars that I had packed in Hamburg and water.


04.11.2016   Nancy

I wa shappy to get out of the hotel pretty early, and went to the station also to grab some food because I was more than just starving. BUt just getting to the station…I guess I walked twice the distance it was away from the hotel, simply because I am a master at getting lost…hopeless case.

The train ride with TGV in first class was neat again, silence and being able to nap and just relax – and charge the phone again, as it is just terribly quickly losing its energy. Maybe it is really time for a new one, because it more and more turns into crap.

After I arrived at Nancy station, I waited for my two friends to pick me up and go to the hotel that was close to the venue of Nancy on the Rocks, where in the evening Apocalyptica also played. It was just the way that I had initially planned to walk, as there was no public transport going there, but no chance. Already too tired there.

The hotel was far better, comfy big bed, nice shower…I really liked it. Got changed, did a little bit of sightseeing and then went to the festival, picked up press and photo pass, and then photo time again. It felt good, really – I had kinda missed it, even though being the only non.French person and stuck in between people who mostly cannot speak english properly was a challenge. And then there was Apocalyptica…no Franky Perez singing, which was the first downfall when I got the news. I think I looked liked I had seen a monster when I was being told this…and it got even worse.

Far worse. At first we feared that it would be instrumental songs only, but then well…Tipe, their former singer, joined them and seriously – his singing performance was, after the first song, really far off. And it sounded terrible – just as the band´s playing was. Many times off key, not hitting the tunes fully…

I was seeing just the worst show of the band that I had seen of all those that i had seen in the past 11 years…I cannot tell HOW gutted and upset I was. It was terrible.

I really wondered if I should just go home and drive back to Hamburg, but I decided against it because many things were already booked and I had looked forward to it and it just had to get better. Much better. Something told me that it just had to be like it…

This entry was posted in Gigs/Konzerte, Photos/Fotos and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

