Tough Mudder Half – Northern Germany (15.07.2017)


To be honest, I didn´t exactly have the best of nights leading into the day – I was simply too nervous to fall asleep properly and it took me ages until I finally slept. And then I had been dreaming loads of bullshit, which I cannot recall in detail anymore, and I think it´s better this way.

And then the time from getting up to the planned driving-start passed by so fast that you could really say it was flying by…I don´t now where it went. Quickly hopped into the car and withdrew some cash in case I needed some and then was on my way to Hof Severloh in Hermannsburg (aka in the middle of nowhere). The drive there was…interesting – the inbuilt GPS from the car was somehow useless as I couldn´t enter the place and needed to switch to my phone, where I luckily had saved the address as well – I am prepared as fuck, you know.

And through many little towns, and many little streets (and beautiful nature and places where I´d somehow love to live) I made my way to the parking lot – of course not in the time that google had estmated but who on earth believes in these times anyways?! If I

would have not been so nervous I would have stopped so many times to take photos…but well, all I knew was I wanted to arrive because being right on the spot usually makes me more relaxed. But it didn´t. I got even more nervous xD

I checked in and at first got a wrong starting number and ended up with a number for the full round and not just for the half version

that i wanted to run and had to change it again…was somehow annoying and stressed me a lot in this moment but well…I was there early, and decided for myself that I was gonna start earlier than the suggested starting time because the waiting would have killed me.

But then things went differently – I met two girl in the changing area and figured out that they were also supposed to be starting at 1pm like me – also doing their first tough mudder half. So We joined together and I met also

the rest of their group that ran the full course. It was a great feeling to not be alone anymore, and our little team felt good and proved good, as well!


The run itself…let´ go through it step by step – you will find an example video in brackets after every obstacle name:

The running itself – no problem at all, and I was really surprised that my left leg that had been bitching for ages before, really made no problems at all and it didn´t really feel like 11km at all. Maybe due to the obstacles in between, but it could also be just that the ground was so soft that it was nicer for the joints to be running there.

Kiss of mud 2.0 (video) – To be honest, it looked scarier before than it actually was, I didn´t even get close to the wires with my butt, I only ripped off my starting number half-way because I didn´t lift up my belly enough hahaha xD

Brett vorm Kopf (video) – A rather easy start into the “let´s climb walls”, even though I didn´t get ove rthere alone either…I tried but somehow my brain said “you will not make it” and then I couldn´t make it, of course…that one really has been a brain issue more than a strength issue…

Mud Mile 2.0 (video) – Easy peasy, nice and muddy, a bit slippery but not really tough and a good thing to do to not put so much weight onto the muscles for once 😉

Creek Crusade(s) – Water, cold water. About 4°C cold water, height varying. Sometimes it was an easy walk through, sometimes it was that you actually had to swim through a little lake. Less terribly than it sounds like, it nicely cooled the bruises but also cooled out the muscles in the legs especially which was a bit problematic for me…

Birth Canal (video) – I´ve never been thinking or considering that I could be claustrophobic, but hello, here we go. Having these masse sof water pushing me on the ground made me nearly freak out and bring me close to tears, especially the later metre was pure hell – and that even though it was open to one side…jeeeeez, terrible.

Berlin Walls (video) – yet anotehr obstacle where I really felt like being small is at times really shitty…my arms felt too short, but I had some nice British/Irish (?) lads to push me up. And that´s what makes it amazing, you just help where you can, no matter what!

Drecksloch 2 – Hm, to be honest – I really cannot remember it anymore, seriously. I cannot recall it, but then it cannot be too spectacular at all or have been difficult xD

Holz vor der Hütte (video) – actually I had been looking forward to carrying a junk of wood but a dude thought I needed something small, so I carried a hilariously small piece of mood…nope, I was not satisfied. But at least it was an easy obstacle xD

Huckepack – Carrying one of the girls from my team on the back wasn´t really tough, I

found it worse when I had to be carried. I really dislike that feeling, it´s a classical trust issue xD

The Hangover (video) – I really wish I was having enough bounciness in my body to jump high enough and then push myself up to get over it without any help..I felt so clumsy, and it made me so upset…it´s not even damned high it just sucks…I mean with help it went quick but I really wished that I could´ve done that on my own…

Pyramid Scheme (video) – the most painful obstacle for me. It´s a pyramid looking like obstacle where you need to get to the top, and that you can only manage with help of fellow people…and I was nearly up there twice and fell hard, both

times onto my left ellbow, once i ripped down even some guy that I tried to grab to stop me from falling, and…I was really scared as fuck and didn´t want to do any obstacle anymore after this…but I kept going…

Blockness Monster (video) – the first thing coming to my mind as a memory is the sign saying “1.50m water depth” – the fact it was at least 1,70m is another story, and that got me panicked first when I jumped in, expecting to have ground under my feet. Besides this, nothing too difficult, even though changing position when on top didn´t quite work for me, so I was diving into the water, wuhuuu!

Everest 2.0 (video) – probably the toughest and most difficult obstacle for me, also because my mind just was full of blockades and the fear of falling onto my left ellbow again. But after 4 tries I made it up, trying to get the last bits of power in legs and arms and grabbing a hand reaching out for me, getting a leg up to be grabbe and then just hold on and try to make it as easy for everyone as possible to get me up there the last meter…I was really over my limits, and just so relieved I made it.


Afterwards I waited with the girls for the rest of the team, had some chats, took some photos and then wanted to go and take a shower. Well, shower.

The icy cold water was nothing like a shower, you really had an additional obstacle there. Terrible, and you couldn´t get the dirt off anyways – so next time either something has to be changed or I will not even bother to shower.

The drive home was all good, still high on adrenaline I didn´t really feel all the pain that then came afterwards…


Conclusion? Fuck yes, first and clearly not the last time. Already signed up for the full version of the run for next year!

This entry was posted in Germany/Deutschland, sports, Travelling/Reisen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

